Catechism Materials

Catechism Question #1:  What is your only comfort in life and in death?

Answer:  That I, with body and soul, both in life and in death, am not my own, but belong to my faithful Savior Jesus Christ, Who with His precious blood has fully satisfied for all my sins, and redeemed me from all the power of the devil; and so preserves me, that without the will of my Father in heaven not a hair can fall from my head; yea, that all things must work together for my salvation. Wherefore, by His Holy Spirit, He also assures me of eternal life, and makes me heartily willing and ready henceforth to live unto Him.

his question and answer comes from the Heidelberg Catechism, a document written in 1563 by Zacharius Ursinus, professor at the Heidelberg University, and Caspar Olevianus, the court preacher of Elector Frederick III. The catechism was intended to help clarify and instill the truths of the Protestant Reformation. It was immediately and warmly received by the churches of the day, and continues to be an instrumental tool in the "catechizing" or teaching of congregations worldwide. It, along with the Canons of Dortdrecht and the Belgic Confession, is considered one of the Three Forms of Unity adopted as statements of faith by many Protestant and Reformed churches.

The catechism is divided into three main sections, commonly referred to as "Guilt", "Grace" and "Gratitude". In other words, it instructs us in

  1. How we are to know our condition before God, (Guilty of sin and unable to redeem ourselves.)
  2. What God has done for us, (Provided atonement for our sins in the life and death of Jesus Christ), and,
  3. What our response to God should be in light of this guilt and grace, (Gratitude to God and cheerful obedience out of our love for Him)

Unlike many theological documents which may be characterized as dry, sterile, or inaccessible, the Heidelberg Catechism is known and loved for its great themes of comfort, rest and assurance, as the first question and answer so clearly exemplify.

The Heidelberg Catechism, intended to be used as a teaching tool, is divided up into 52 weekly lessons or "Lord's Days." Our catechism service and our children's catechism classes follow this weekly schedule. Class materials, divided into two levels, Level 1 for small children, and Level 2 for older students, can be found below.

Lesson Level
Lesson Level
Lord's Day 1 Lord's Day 27
Lord's Day 2 Lord's Day 28
Lord's Day 3 Lord's Day 29
Lord's Day 4 Lord's Day 30
Lord's Day 5 Lord's Day 31
Lord's Day 6 Lord's Day 32
Lord's Day 7 Lord's Day 33
Lord's Day 8 Lord's Day 34
Lord's Day 9 Lord's Day 35
Lord's Day 10 Lord's Day 36
Lord's Day 11 Lord's Day 37
Lord's Day 12 Lord's Day 38
Lord's Day 13 Lord's Day 39
Lord's Day 14 Lord's Day 40
Lord's Day 15 Lord's Day 41
Lord's Day 16 Lord's Day 42
Lord's Day 17 Lord's Day 43
Lord's Day 18 Lord's Day 44
Lord's Day 19 Lord's Day 45
Lord's Day 20 Lord's Day 46
Lord's Day 21 Lord's Day 47
Lord's Day 22 Lord's Day 48
Lord's Day 23 Lord's Day 49
Lord's Day 24 Lord's Day 50
Lord's Day 25 Lord's Day 51
Lord's Day 26 Lord's Day 52

Although these materials were created by Grace United Reformed Church, it is our intent to allow their free use to anyone who would benefit from them. We do ask, however, that if you decide to modify them in any way, that you would be sure to attribute the source material to Grace URC.